Advice on library job hunting

24Aug11

I came across this series of posts on A Modern Hypatia called Job Hunting Retrospective: Index. The author, Jennifer, has written in great detail the story of her search for a library job. She talks about what she was looking for in a job, where she found job postings, the template she created for applying for jobs, as well as things that worked and didn’t work. I especially loved her positive attitude – she sent out over 140 applications and it took just over a year before she got an offer.

If you’re job hunting right now, I highly recommend this series. And don’t give up!

~ Karen



2 Responses to “Advice on library job hunting”

  1. 1 Brenda W.

    Awesome post as I like really detailed notes on clothing for interview. More than just “wear a suit” which I have avoid. I l prefer blouse and skirt, or sweater and skirt combo. They key is to radiate confidence.

    And I love, love Corporette blog for female professionals about dressing appropriately. Who knew there could be 6 black conservative tote bags at different price ranges?

    http://corporette.com/category/careerism/interviewing/

  2. Thanks so much for the lovely compliments! My hope is that it’s useful to other people, since there’s so much advice out there, that yet avoids a bunch of practical questions I kept hearing people ask about.