Business and Industry research

29Sep15

I would love to add business and industry research to my reference repertoire. It seems like it would be easy enough to pick up, and would broaden the services I can offer my lawyers. With that in mind, I attended a CALLACBD webinar, “Conducting Business and Industry Research”, presented by Heidi Schiller, Manager of Infoaction, Vancouver Public Library’s fee-based research service. What a great webinar!

To make sure we were all on the same page, Heidi started by defining business and industry research:

The process of researching businesses to learn more about them or to acquire information on a specific industry.

The first tool Heidi introduced is NAICS, the North American Industry Classification System, or as she put it, the “Dewey Decimal System” for industries. These codes are often a shortcut to the specific industry being studied, on the various databases she demonstrated. While most of the sites are fee-based, Industry Canada provides a decent-enough free service for those who can’t afford the paid services or to supplement the information available on other sites. One point Heidi made was to check several sources to ensure you got a broad cross-section of information.

The paid sites were:

  • Dow Jones Factiva
  • FP Infomart
  • Reference Canada (available through VPL, but not at my local public library)
  • LexisNexis Media
  • Business Source Premier (available through VPL)

Industry Canada’s home page, as well as  Canadian Company Capabilities are good starting points for those with only access to free sources. Don’t forget the resources available through your public library. I use Canadian Newsstand – Major Dailies, available through my public library, when I want published company news.

Now I just have to convince my lawyers to “hire” me…

~ Karen

