Bobbi Newman Rocks

13Jan11

I love singer Holly Cole and I think I read long ago she was learning to play the drums. Why do something crazy like that? It was a creative release and very personal, without musicians judging her. As librarians we are not a group known for innovation, despite our solid reputation. Before I say “I can’t do that” next time at work, I will think of Bobbi Newman and her great video. Runs a bit long Bobbi but props for being visual in this Youtube culture. For us text-based folk there is an anti-creativity checklist too.

I challenge you to be creative when faced with an issue. Better to think of as many options as possible, perhaps even spurring others to be tangential thinkers rather than inside-the-box naysayers.

– Brenda

