Old and New Tools

12Nov08

Before my current Facebook page, I was a My Space kid. If it were a high school universe, My Space was like the cool punk kids, and Facebook would be the jocks and jockettes. A mutual friend got us into My Space, because Isabelle loved punk music and she actually had music streaming from her page. Izzie clearly loved My Space and you can customize the look and feel of pages, unlike Facebook. Eventually we drifted away from our My Space accounts as it was more hassle than it was worth.

But I just looked at Mozes, which claims to send subscribers text messages about their favourite bands, sport teams, clubs, and brands via their cell phones. The site actually said mobile phone which is a British term, so it may have U.K. origins. It is only 3 years old. Mozes reminds me of a new fangled My Space. The target audience looks like twentysomethings with active social lives and interests; sort of like My Space.

– Brenda

