Testing iPad

02Jun10

Here are some random thoughts about the iPad which landed in Canada. By the way I was at the local mall as fights broke out and about 50 people were lined up ready to charge the front door!

  • Feels heavier than it looks
  • Average for battery life and can turn down brightness to save energy
  • No applications close so different than Windows
  • Maximizing windows is funny flicking finger move
  • No e-mail but a workaround is to use Skype
  • Reading books is great with colour illustrations
  • Financial Times did not come in special digital version just web version
  • Not ergonomically correct and rip off that stand does not come as standard issue
  • Great for storing and displaying photos

This last comment was funny because it came from someone who is very electronic oriented and was an early adopter of the iPhone. Also I asked a diehard Apple user if he was buying one, but he is waiting for 2nd generation to come out. Hmmm…

Update: See SLAW post from Simon Fodden about Tech Tips

- Brenda

2 Responses to “Testing iPad”

  1. 1 Karen

    Oh, I’m devastated! You got an iPad before me?

    You should be able to get an email application from the app store. I got an iPod touch for Mother’s Day (thanks tons kids!) and they loaded all the apps I needed. And I’ve added a few more, like echofon for my Twitter feeds. As long as you can set it up for Wi-fi, you can get webmail.

    I have to say, I’m also looking at a 2nd gen iPad. But I’m having so much fun with my Touch, I may never make the move!

  2. 2 B Wong

    No iPad yet so you can stop being jealous. I was testing out Ted’s new toy.

    I forgot to mention that that I played Boggle game and there is a Zombie game as apps. The gaming ability of iPad might hurt traditional gaming devices or smart phones according Maclean’s magazine. But best games still on PSP and etc.



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 357 other followers

