iPhone v. Blackberry

11Nov09

The whole smart phone phenomena baffles me. In the area of cell phone connectedness, I am an admitted dinosaur.  I resisted for a long time, but finally broke down and carry around a dumb phone intermittently.

I know a couple of iPhone users and Blackberry users in my small random sample. I make fun of the ubiquitous Crackberry friends,  but they’re not addicted yet. I don’t think they wake up and check it, before going to work. At times, my life is easier when you can check e-mail at last minute or go to GPS to find locations of shops.

A positive factor in the Blackberry is the built in keyboard facilitating the ability to send text easier. If you tweet, then you could live blog with either device. Otherwise it is described as a “fancy pager” for business types, so they are on call 24/7. Unfortunately long documents formatted for Word or as PDFs don’t display in an easy-to-read format.

Both the iPhone and Blackberry may change the way we communicate from e-mails to library catalogues to web sites. I was encouraged to write concise and friendly sounding e-mails as my recipients might be seeing it on the mobile devices. Hmm…food for thought.

Previously there were iPhone security issues for business types, but I honestly don’t know enough to comment one way or the other. Here is an article about enhanced security including nuclear option on iPhones.

And that consumer marvel iPhone is everyone’s darling. My 2 iPhone toting friends are completely enamoured, drinking the Koolaid from Apple. The multifunctionality of  cell phone, internet browser, GPS, and many nifty software applications make iPhone very appealing.

There are no downsides really, sometimes there is a a slow connection to internet. — Danielle

Danielle and I disagree about how cool the iPhone is, and I will soldier on with my basic cell…no Web, no GPS and all of 4 contacts in the address book.

- Brenda

One Response to “iPhone v. Blackberry”

  1. 1 Karen

    Make sure you SMS enable my twitter account, then you’ll start to see the fun of a cell phone!



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 357 other followers

