New techniques for old habits

20Aug09

Brenda and I have been taking a writing break, getting in our vacation time. Summer’s almost over, though, and it’s time to get back to work.

I’ve had a whole series of experiences happen that are sort of connected. Have you been following the anonymous blogger story? Well, I was asked to find the decision by the New York State court, which was only published a couple of days ago. I searched my legal databases and the court’s site, then I tried googling for a news story that would hopefully have a link to the full text of the decision. Nothing was working. Then I tried a twitter search. Bingo – in 1 min., I had a link to a pdf of the decision.

Then, this morning while reviewing my tweets, I was directed to this post by Timothy B. Corcoran, on how vendors could prepare themselves for conference attendees. Notice how one of the points he makes is to sell benefits, not features? Where have I heard that before? Oh yeah, here!

Now for the third bit of serendipity – Wired West (the online newsletter of the Western Canada Chapter of SLA) arrived in my inbox yesterday. One of the articles about the 2009 SLA conference happened to also talk about Mary Ellen Bates’ presentation, and the importance of “benefits, not features”.

I feel like everything is running together – instead of  just using search engines and databases, I can also add social media tools like Twitter. And when it comes to marketing, sales techniques are for internal as well as external customers. These are the kinds of things I already knew, but it’s nice to have them documented by others.

Now if I could only get my vendors to think of how their products benefit me… but that’s a post for another day!

~ Karen

One Response to “New techniques for old habits”

  1. 1 Brenda Wong

    Thanks for great post….Timothy Corcoran makes a good point about the cost of ownership. A retired couple have opted out of owning a computer, when they have a need. They know about Skype, web cam, and video blogs to keep in touch with their grandchildren. But the cost of ownership is emotional as well as there would be a learning curve. The cost of ownership of a digital photo frame is deemed not as prohibitive. To each to their own.



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 355 other followers

