The Power of One

17Sep08

Ah, the sweet smell of success!

One of my more tedious but essential tasks is tracking library spending. I record every invoice charged to the library budget, and split it between various accounts before sending it to accounting to be paid. A couple of months ago, I noticed that one of our publishers had started charging PST on a particular format of text. So, I asked why. The response I got back was their tax department had looked in to it and determined that PST should be charged. That wasn’t good enough for me. I asked why again. To make a long story short, after enough “whys” from me, I finally got the response I wanted: the publisher had made a mistake and we would be refunded the money we’d paid in error.

The moral of this story? Keep asking until you get the answer you want to hear! Or rather, until you get the explanation that fully answers the question. By continuing to ask the publisher how they had arrived at their decision, I was able to help all purchasers of these products in my province. And since none of us had budgeted for an additional 7% this year, that was, as Martha Stewart says, “A good thing.”

~ Karen

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 357 other followers

