On the sunny side of the street…

13Aug08

I blew it.

Yesterday, amidst some “retail therapy”, I behaved churlishly (don’t you love that word!) to a lowly sales rep. Yes, their display was misleading, putting sale items with full price items, but they are people too, and there’s no need to be rude. Besides, in the big scheme of life, the universe and everything else, what’s the big deal?

So today, I say: Say something nice to someone. Compliment a co-worker for a job well done. Drop your change into the tip jar at Starbucks. Instead of just thinking “Wasn’t it nice of her to smile at me”, actually say it. You’ll feel better, the recipient will feel better, and the day will be just that much sunnier for everyone.

And tomorrow, I can go back to being my usual churlish self.

~ Karen

One Response to “On the sunny side of the street…”

  1. 1 Brenda

    I forget to slooow down…I should smile, say thank you, and look directly into a cashier’s eyes as I complete my purchase at the checkout. It transforms a mechanical transaction into a more humane one. But I am rushed and my mind is 20 tasks ahead of me as I mumble thanks and fly.



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 391 other followers

