The simple things

17May08

Yesterday I finally got the library mending supplies I’d ordered about 6 weeks earlier. (I’d kind of forgotten I’d ordered them, to be honest!) Most of the books in my library are in very good shape, but some of the older reporting series have split along the spine, and need to be put back together. This is what happens when you’re a solo – you get to do everything!

I previously worked part time in an academic library on the circulation desk, and part of my duties was mending. An academic library gets way more circulation than my private corporate library, and you sure can tell by the beating covers and spines take. I don’t have all the tools in my current position that I had at the university, but then I don’t have all the problem book repairs either.

It helps to bring a variety of education and experience to a solo library position. I’ve integrated a number of practices I picked up in other positions, some simple, and some more complex. One of the simplest: pulling books to the front of the shelves rather than pushing them to the back. This makes it easier for the patron to see the title, especially for books on the taller shelves. Signage is another simple addition. We tend to get caught up in our jargon and think that everyone else can understand what we say. So I’ve put up simple signs describing a particular area, like “Contracts” in the KF 801 area, and “Labour and Employment” in KF 3300-3471.

I’m looking forward to doing a little mending next week. I think I’ll make Friday afternoons book repair day. We have a casual Friday policy, so I don’t have to worry about getting my clothes messed up. It’ll be a nice way to wind down the week, and let my brain recover!

~Karen

One Response to “The simple things”

  1. 1 Brenda W.

    Don’t you love the smell of glue? Hahaha. Seriously though, sometimes I have bought acid free book tape for repairs. I don’t know if it really is a better tape.



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 391 other followers

