Advocacy

08Apr08

As a member of CLA I receive Feliciter, their bimonthly journal. I look forward to my copy which usually has one or two articles of interest to me as a solo library technician. The current edition, Vol. 54, No. 2 features Library Technicians as its theme.

At first, I was a little miffed that Library Technicians would rate as a theme. Aren’t we more or less equal members, at least of library associations? After all, Feliciter isn’t likely to publish a “librarians” issue. But then I read Connie Crosby’s article in the latest edition of LLRX.com: The Tao of Law Librarianship: If the books go, will they will want us? Connie talks about the importance of advocacy and letting our users know the value we add to our organizations. She makes a really good point that people don’t compartmentalize libraries and library staff the way those of us in the field do. And by the same token, if someone has a good experience with a library, be it public, academic, or corporate, they’ll assume all libraries provide the same quality of experience.

Here in my firm, it’s my goal to provide my users with positive experiences from the library. Like Brenda’s colleague Marcia, I hand-deliver articles and books, to attach a face to the library. I drop by the offices of new hires, both lawyers and legal assistants, and ask if they have any questions or need any help. Despite the rise of electronic resources, which are supposed to allow everyone to do their own work, library staff are still the best at finding the obscure data.

So I read Feliciter and learned some new things about library technicians. And I urge you to do the same.

~ Karen

One Response to “Advocacy”

  1. 1 Brenda W.

    A respected librarian once made the comment that “we make it look easy” about librarianship. Librarians and library technicians, who think about customer service, elevate us all. The customer walks away with a good experience. But there is a lot of organizing, strategy, and planning behind the scenes.



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 355 other followers

